Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Recognition Awards

Dr. Arnold Katz Achievement Award


The Stanley J. Sarnoff Endowment, as it was known at its inception, literally began around Stan Sarnoff’s dining room table at his home in Bethesda, Maryland. Several cardiologists he knew from his days in the lab joined with him as he drew plans for what we know today as the Sarnoff Foundation. Dr. Arnold (“Arnie”) Katz was one of those cardiologists.  Arnie continued the legacy of his father, Dr. Louis Katz, who, as a colleague of Stan’s in the lab, was one of the renowned research scientists of his day.  Arnie envisioned and was the first Chair of the Scientific Committee; he began the process of nationalizing the search for fellows at all of the medical schools in the U.S.  Arnie stayed involved in the Foundation ever since, as a Board of Directors member and sponsor of many fellows from the University of Connecticut.  Sadly, Arnie passed away in January 2016.  His family, along with the Sarnoff Foundation Board of Directors, has established the Dr. Arnold Katz Achievement Award in his memory, to be given annually to a member of the Sarnoff community who demonstrates exceptional mentoring and the pursuit of science.


Award Recipients


 2019:  E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD
 2018:   Joseph Hill, MD, PhD
 2017:  H. Scott Baldwin, MD 
 2016:  Alan Kono, MD

Stanley J. Sarnoff Spirit Award

The Stanley J. Sarnoff Spirit Award is given annually to honor a member of the Sarnoff community for commitment and dedication to the Sarnoff Fellowship Program, Society of Alumni or in furtherance of the overall mission of the Foundation. 


Award Recipients

 2019:  Rich Guerra, MD and Andrew Plump, MD, PhD
 2018:   Philip Tsao, PhD
 2017:  Jon Lomasney, MD
 2016:  Ronglih Liao, PhD
 2015:  Ann Marie Schmidt, MD
 2014:  Charles Lowenstein, MD and Galen Wagner, MD
 2013:  Carlin Long, MD and Jere Mitchell, MD
 2012:  Michael Cain, MD and Harold Strauss, MD
 2011:  Myron Weisfeldt, MD


Alumni Achievement Award

The Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation Alumni Achievement Award honors a distinguished Sarnoff alumnus or alumna.  This award is given bi-annually to an alumnus who has rendered outstanding service to and demonstrated loyal interest in the Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation, as well as having achieved excellence in their chosen field, and/or rendered outstanding service to their community.


Award Recipients

 2018:   Lauren Cohn, MD, 1985-1986 Sarnoff Fellow, 1991-1993 Sarnoff Scholar 
 2016:  Javid Moslehi, MD, 1998-1999 Sarnoff Fellow
 2014:  Charles "Chaz" Hong, MD, PhD, 1989-1990 Sarnoff Fellow, 2005 Sarnoff Scholar
 2013:  Richard Page, MD, 1982-1983 Sarnoff Fellow, 1987-1989 Sarnoff Scholar
 2012:  Andrew Plump, MD, PhD, 1989-1990 Sarnoff Fellow, 1998-2000 Scholar
 2011:  Daniel Friedman, MD, 1983-1984 Sarnoff Fellow, 1988-1990 Sarnoff Scholar
 2010:  Jon Lomasney, MD, 1984-1985 Sarnoff Fellow, 1989-1991 Sarnoff Scholar


Award Nomination Process

Any individual regardless of his/her affiliation with the Foundation (nominator does not have to be an alumnus) can nominate a Sarnoff alumnus or alumna.  Those who may submit nominations include Fellows, Alumni, Preceptors, Sponsors and Board members.  Individuals may not nominate themselves.  A completed nomination form and any supporting materials (letters, candidates CV's, etc.) must be submitted by January 20th during a nominating year for consideration.


Award Selection Process


The awardee will be selected by a seven-member committee.  The committee is comprised of the current alumni Committee Chair, the immediate past Alumni Committee Chair, the Board Chair, the Scientific Committee Chair, the immediate past Award Selection Committee Chair, the immediate past Awardee and an honorary member (who is usually the current scholar).  The committee will review the nominations and make its final selection by February 15th of the award year and the awardee will be honored during the Foundation's Annual Scientific Meeting Awards Dinner.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal