Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Dr. Arnold Katz Achievement Award


 Dr. Arnold Katz Achievement Award


The Stanley J. Sarnoff Endowment, as it was known at its inception, literally began around Stan Sarnoff’s dining room table at his home in Bethesda, Maryland. Several cardiologists he knew from his days in the lab joined with him as he drew plans for what we know today as the Sarnoff Foundation. Dr. Arnold (“Arnie”) Katz was one of those cardiologists.  Arnie continued the legacy of his father, Dr. Louis Katz, who, as a colleague of Stan’s in the lab, was one of the renowned research scientists of his day.  Arnie envisioned and was the first Chair of the Scientific Committee; he began the process of nationalizing the search for fellows at all of the medical schools in the U.S.  Arnie stayed involved in the Foundation ever since, as a Board of Directors member and sponsor of many fellows from the University of Connecticut.  Sadly, Arnie passed away in January 2016.  His family, along with the Sarnoff Foundation Board of Directors, has established the Dr. Arnold Katz Achievement Award in his memory, to be given annually to a member of the Sarnoff community who demonstrates exceptional mentoring and the pursuit of science. 


2017 Award

H. Scott Baldwin, MD was awarded the Second Annual Dr.Arnold Katz Achievement Award during the 37th Annual Scientific Meeting for the continued impact he makes to the Sarnoff Foundation. Scott has been part of the Sarnoff community well over a decade, and has served as the Chair of both Scientific Committee and Board of Directors of Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation. He has truly been a tireless and steadfast champion of Sarnoff Foundation. He has been a Sponsor and Advisor to many Sarnoff Fellows. At Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Scott serves as the Katrina Overall McDonald Chair in Pediatrics and has established Vanderbilt as one of the biggest and vibrant Sarnoff communities outside the two coasts. 


2016 Award

The first Annual Annual Dr. Arnold Katz Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Alan Kono during the Foundation’s 36th AnnualScientific Meeting.  Alan was the first Sarnoff Fellow as a medical student from Dartmouth and had a close personal relationship with Dr. Katz for over 35 years.  Alan is currently the Director of the Advanced Heart Failure and Cardiomyopathy Program and Associate Professor of Medicine at the Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine.  He has given promotional presentations to medical students at Dartmouth every year for almost 15 years and has sponsored a number of Fellowship applicants from Dartmouth and four former Fellows:  Natalia Berry, Suparna Chandra, Julia Glaser and Paul McKie.  In addition, Alan has served in many leadership roles during his career and mentored many medical students and trainees.  The Foundation is grateful for Alan’s continued dedication and support over the past 36 years.




Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal