Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Sarnoff News

Sarnoff News


Sarnoff Group on
Join the Sarnoff Doximity Group on This is a physician-to-physician messaging board where we will keep you abreast of Sarnoff news, you will be able to collaborate with your peers, seek mentorship and guidance and share your own news.  Join us today!  Contact Patty Kehoe at for more information.


Sarnoff News


The Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation is featured in the August 7, 2018 edition of Circulation.  Many thanks to the authors:  Charlie Lowenstein, MD, Jere Mitchell, MD and Mike Weisfeldt, MD and, of course, the Circulation Editor-in-Chief, Joe Hill, MD, PhD. Link

Michelle Albert, MD 
(Scientific Committee) is one of two national recipients of the American Heart Association Merit Award 2018.  The award is $1 million dollars. 

Shadi Aminololama-Shakeri, MD
 (1996-97 Fellow) co-authored a publication in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology entitled, “Impact of the California Breast Density Law on Screening Breast MR Utilization, Provider Ordering Practices, and Patient Demographics.”  Link

Rima Arnaout, MD
 (2005-06 Fellow and 2013-15 Scholar) recently co-authored a paper in npj Digital Medicine entitled, “Fast and accurate view classification of echocardiograms using deep learning.”   Link

Frank Davis, MD (2013-14 Fellow) recently had a publication in Annual Vascular Surgery entitled, “Early outcomes following endovascular, open surgical, and hybrid revascularization for lower extremity acute limb ischemia.”  Link

Amanda Garfinkel (1997-98 Fellow) has been involved with the following publications during her Sarnoff year in the Seidman lab at Brigham & Women’s Hospital:

·   Sharma A, Toepfer CN, Schmid M, Garfinkel AC, Seidman CE. Differentiation and Contractile Analysis of GFP-Sarcomere Reporter hiPSC-Cardiomyocytes. Curr Protoc Hum Genet. 2018 Jan 24;96:21.12.1-21.12.12. doi: 10.1002/cphg.53. PubMed PMID: 29364522; PubMed Central PMCID: PMC5786381.

·   Garfinkel AC, Seidman JG, Seidman CE. Genetic Pathogenesis of Hypertrophic and Dilated Cardiomyopathy. Heart Fail Clin. In Press.

Rajat Gupta, MD 
(2005-06 Fellow, 2014-15 Scholar) was recently highlighted in Circulation Research.  Link

Brian Lima, MD 
(2000-01 Fellow) was a leading member of the team, as the Surgical Director of the Transplant Program, to perform the first heart transplant on Long Island, NY, at North Shore University Hospital.  Link

Michael Lipinski, MD
 (2003-04  Fellow) is an Interventional Cardiologist at Cardiovascular Associates of Charlottesville in Charlottesville, VA.

S. Saad Mahmood, MD
 (2007-08 Fellow) and Javid Moslehi, MD (1998-99 Fellow) were co-authors in a publication in the Journal of the American College of Cardiology entitled, “Myocarditis in Patients Treated with Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors.”  

Thomas Michel, MD, PhD
 (Scientific Committee), was awarded the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutic Vanhoutte Distinguished Lectureship in Vascular Pharmacology. The lectureship honors the lifelong scientific contributions made by Paul M. Vanhoutte, MD, PhD, about the importance of endothelial cells and vascular smooth muscle function in health and disease. The honor also pays homage to his mentoring of countless prominent endothelial and vascular biologists and pharmacologists. Dr. Michel was nominated by Nobel Laureate Louis Ignarro, PhD, of the University of California, Los Angeles, who noted that Michel’s “scholarly achievements and inspired mentorship reveal him as an exemplar of the academic pharmacologist, very much in the mold of Paul Vanhoutte himself.”

Javid Moslehi, MD (1998-99 Fellow) was recently published in The Lancet and spoke on the same topic at the ACC meeting. Link


James Mudd, MD (1998-99 Fellow) recently had a publication in the Journal of the American Heart Association entitled, “Patient and Caregiver Determinants of Patient Quality of Life and Caregiver Strain in Left Ventricular Assist Device Therapy.”  Link

Ngoc Nguyen (2015-17 Fellow) was co-first author on a recent paper published online: Link  This paper was based on the project Ngoc worked on during her Second Year Sarnoff Fellowship with Dr. Reza Ardehali at UCLA. 

Lisa Park, MD 
(1995-96 Fellow) has recently joined the full-time faculty in the Department of Ophthalmology at Columbia University, where she spent her Sarnoff year doing research.  She is an Associate Professor and cataract surgeon with a particular interest in global health.

Sydney Rooney 
(2017-18 Fellow) was recently awarded the Society for Pediatric Research's Student Research Award at the 2018 Pediatric Academic Societies Meeting.

Priyanka Saha
 (2017-18 Fellow) recently spoke at the ACC meeting about her current work in her Sarnoff lab and co-authored an editorial in the AHA Journal Link

Priya also had the opportunity to present some of the results of her Sarnoff year research at the Betty Irene Moore Heart Center Research Day at Stanford and won the Best Oral Abstract prize.

Jeans Santana, MD (2015-16 Fellow) was co-author on a recent publication in the Journal of Biological Chemistry which was based on his Sarnoff research year at Yale. Jeans writes: “I can't thank Sarnoff ENOUGH for the amazing opportunity it afforded me.  I like to think I went 'crazy' with the research during my year - getting my hands on whatever I could!  In reflection I cannot believe I went into the experience with only 3 publications, and now because of THAT year have a total of 12! Sarnoff believed in me, and I hope I met the expectations and make the family proud.  My biggest challenge, now moving into my 30s, is how do I keep it up?!”  Link

David Spragg, MD
 (1995-96 Fellow) was co-author on a publication in European Heart Journal – Cardiovascular Imaging entitled, “Mechanical dyssynchrony of the left atrium during sinus rhythm is associated with history of stroke in patients with atrial fibrillation.”   Link 

David Strauss, MD
 (2007-09 Fellow) talks about his research work at FDA  Link


Caressa Chen - Loyola Chicago, Surgery
Debapria Das - St. Louis University, Internal Medicine
Daniel Li – Stanford, Internal Medicine
Thomas Mawson – Beth Israel Deaconess, Internal Medicine
Ron Paranal – Baylor, Internal Medicine
Parth Patel – Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Internal Medicine
Sabina Pathan – Baylor, Internal Medicine
Vinny Polsinelli – Pittsburgh, Internal Medicine
Gabriel Rubio – UCSF, Anesthesiology
Mara Storto – NYU, Psychiatry
Warren Tai – Vanderbilt, Internal Medicine
Amy Uber - Mass General & Brigham Combined Program, Emergency Medicine     
Gina White – University of Arkansas, Ophthalmology
Perry Wu – UCLA, Internal Medicine





Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal